Thanks to a devoted crew of volunteers, the roof at Cozens Ranch Museum in Fraser is getting a fresh makeover. The traditional wood slab roof over the barn was added in 1990 and needed help. The barn houses historic artifacts from the Cozens ranch days of 1874 to 1934 as well as the replica stage coach that traveled over Berthoud Pass for the ranch’s early years. Visitors to the museum are permitted to climb on the stage coach and dress in provided costumes to envision and learn about early transportation in Middle Park.
The museum, part of Grand County Historical Association (GCHA), would like to thank volunteers Steve Watts and Kent Weymeyer of Historic Fraser. They are leading historic preservation efforts in the Fraser Valley including at the neighboring 4 Bar 4 Stage Stop. Museum volunteer Ricardo Josso and GCHA board members are also instrumental in the repair of the Cozens barn roof.
The museum is grateful for quality supplies provided at discount by Hesters Log and Lumber in Kremmling and by Alpine Lumber in Granby and manager Lou Ulrich.
With this community effort, the unique barn roof at Cozens Ranch Museum may last another 27 years!